About that organic stuff

3 Jul

Here’s a surprise for me. I’ve never been particularly interested in buying organic meats and produce. It’s priced higher and usually looks kind of beat up so not very appealing. But what I bought the last couple of weeks tastes amazing. It’s so much more flavorful than what I’ve been used to. Fruits and veggies are firm and juicy and the meat I’ve bought is tender. I wasn’t expecting to like it so much more. It’s hard on the wallet though, so I’m buying smaller quantities. Quality over quantity, that’s my new motto.

At the market in Jerusalem.

A seller at the market in Jerusalem. This photo was taken by my friend Gina.

I should mention that I am in Alaska, so although there is good local staple produce in season (potatos, carrots, lettuce, etc.), most of what we eat gets shipped from a long way away.

I visited Israel 18 months ago with a group of friends, and one of the first things we were struck by was how wonderful the food was. Everything tasted better than at home. Their tomatoes were the best I’ve ever eaten. And it just occurred to me that the organic produce I’ve been eating tastes like what we had in Israel.

8 Responses to “About that organic stuff”

  1. Orange Jeep Dad July 6, 2011 at 3:37 am #

    Why did Israel’s taste better I wonder?

    • mollyonviola July 6, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      We wondered too. When we commented on the tomatoes, our guide said their irrigation water is somewhat salty, so that may be part of it. I wondered also if the soil’s mineral content played a part. They’ve been farming there for a relatively short time, so maybe the soils aren’t as depleted. Or maybe it was just us Alaskans not used to having really fresh produce that is actually ripe when picked?

  2. Orange Jeep Dad July 17, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    Molly, send me an email. Guess what? You Won my blog contest! I don’t have your email addy though. Visit my blog for details but first…

    send me an email: OrangeJeepDad@gmail.com

    Congratulations!

    • mollyonviola July 18, 2011 at 1:54 am #

      Oh cool! I love home depot. That’s actually the prize I wanted. The seeds would be great too, but since I live in Alaska, this is probably more realistically usable. :o) Thanks! Molly

    • mollyonviola July 18, 2011 at 1:56 am #

      Do you need my mailing address, then?

      • Orange Jeep Dad July 18, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

        Yes, send your address to me: orangejeepdad[at}gmail{dot]com.

  3. Orange Jeep Dad July 18, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    I wrote your address down. Please delete your comment post. Call me crazy but I don’t want everyone on the Net to see where you live 😉

    • mollyonviola July 18, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

      Oh boy. Thanks. Your comment came to my email and I just hit reply. I didn’t realize it was a post and not an email I was replying to.

Leave a Reply

